Scotland name Euro 2024 squad – Who makes the cut? Who misses out?

EditorLast Update :
Scotland name Euro 2024 squad – Who makes the cut? Who misses out?

Scotland manager Steve Clarke confirms his 26-man squad for Euro 2024, but what players have made the cut and who has missed out?

Scotland manager Steve Clarke has selected his 26-player preliminary squad for Euro 2024.

UEFA confirmed earlier this month that squad sizes have been increased from 23 to 26 players for this year’s eagerly-anticipated continental tournament, and all squads must include at least three goalkeepers.

Most nations took the approach of initially selecting a group of players that exceeds the squad limits with friendlies planned beforehand.

Here, Sports Mole takes a look at the Scotland players that have been selected, and which players have missed out on being in contention for the tournament in Germany, which begins next month.

© Reuters

Which Scottish stars have been selected?

There have been a number of Scotland stars that have experienced injury issues this season, including the likes of Liverpool defender Andy Robertson and Manchester United midfielder Scott McTominay.

However, the pair are the headline names in Clarke’s squad, with Aston Villa’s John McGinn and Celtic’s Callum McGregor also selected as midfield options.

Stuart Armstrong also features on the list, despite the Southampton midfielder missing the last month of action through injury, with Brighton & Hove Albion’s Billy Gilmour also in line to challenge for a starting spot.

Kieran Tierney has endured a mixed campaign on loan at Real Sociedad but the Arsenal defender takes on a senior role in this squad.

Norwich City’s Angus Gunn is one of four goalkeepers selected by Clarke, and that has since been reduced by three with Craig Gordon the player to miss out.

Tommy Conway was a late addition to the squad, the Bristol City forward being selected due to Clarke’s attacking options being reduced since the group got together.

The same applies with Lewis Morgan, the New York Red Bulls attacker being drafted into the squad with Scotland short on numbers in that area of the pitch.

Scotland's Aaron Hickey in action with England's Eberechi Eze on September 12, 2023© Reuters

Which Scottish stars will miss Euro 2024?

Scotland had already been dealt a harsh hand with regards to injuries with Nathan Patterson, Aaron Hickey and Lewis Ferguson already being ruled out.

Then on June 1, Queens Park Rangers forward Lyndon Dykes was forced to withdraw with an ankle injury sustained during training.

The previous three injuries played their part in Ross McCrorie and Ben Doak both being handed call-ups to the squad, despite failing to make an appearance for the Tartan Army thus far, but Doak was forced to withdraw on June 4; Ryan Jack and James Forrest are also named.

On June 7, Clarke confirmed that Gordon and defender John Souttar would be the two players to miss out on featuring on the plane for Germany.

There are very few other surprises. Jacob Brown and Kevin Nisbet – of Luton Town and Millwall respectively – may have hoped to sneak into the attacking options, but they only have one international goal between them in 19 caps.

What are Scotland’s pre-tournament preparations?

Scotland have played two fixtures in June as preparation for the competition, starting with a drab 2-0 victory over Gibraltar.

They had seemingly been cruising against Finland on June 7, leading 2-0 on the hour mark, but they ultimately had to settle for a 2-2 draw at Hampden Park.

As a result, Scotland have now only prevailed in one of their last nine fixtures in all competition, hardly ideal preparation ahead of their upcoming schedule.

Clarke’s side have a week to prepare for their first game, squaring off against tournament hosts Germany in the opening fixture of Euro 2024.

Scotland’s 26-man squad for Euro 2024:

Goalkeepers: Angus Gunn (Norwich City), Zander Clark (Hearts), Liam Kelly (Motherwell)

Defenders: Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Kieran Tierney (Real Sociedad), Jack Hendry (Al Ettifaq), Ryan Porteous (Watford), Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Scott McKenna (FC Copenhagen), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Anthony Ralston (Celtic), Ross McCrorie (Bristol City)

Midfielders: Callum McGregor (Celtic), Ryan Christie (Bournemouth), Billy Gilmour (Brighton & Hove Albion), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Jack (Rangers)

Attackers: Che Adams (Southampton), Lawrence Shankland (Hearts), Tommy Conway (Bristol City), James Forrest (Celtic), Lewis Morgan (New York Red Bulls)

ID:544259:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect8142: